The Lesson I Get From My Manager

There is an important lesson I learn today after I ended my shift.

My team leader announced that we will be separated because he has another task to take care of. It was a big one. It was a project that he proposed for the benefit of the company for next year and he never expected that his proposal would take into action as early as possible.

Half of our mates, including myself, became emotional since my manager and our group have been together for nine months. We’ve been through ups and downs. He mold us into something that’s worth keeping in the company. He never gave up on us even though some of us are young, stubborn and stupid. We really treated ourselves as family.

edited-1

Intuit DIY Payroll Conference

The movement was so sudden. Some of us can’t believe it. They didn’t give us the time to fully accept it but rather force us to accept it because the company’s needs is more important that the emotional bond of this team. The business needs some change and it’s more important than losing our jobs.

I told my manager that one’s performance can affect if there is a separation anxiety. Not everyone can cope up easily on change. It may result to the company performance’s downfall because of that.

He responded to me that the leaders are already aware of it. He told us, “What I can suggest for you to do on this change is that think of it as an opportunity for you to grow.” That’s one of the things that I like about him is because of his optimism. I remembered the last coaching session that we had about my call telling me I sound rude over the phone. He gave me suggestions on what to act next time. I told him that it’s hard for me since that’s already my personality. I admit I am loud. But he told me straightforward, “If you say you can’t do it, you really can’t do it. Think of it this way. There is a difference between ‘It’s hard but achievable’  and ‘It’s achievable but it’s hard’. The latter shows pessimism. The former shows optimism.”

16113237_1898962717002824_5371314501713493425_o

DIY Weekly Superstar for January. I wouldn’t done it without you, TL.

We all went emotional. There’s nothing that we can do but say goodbye to our team manager. We had a wonderful nine months with him. And I learned a lot.

What I realized in this experience is that even though we are trying to keep our bonds together, it doesn’t work that way. It is true that people come and go. That person will be with you for a short span of time (yes, nine months is a short time) because he’s there for you for a reason. It is either teach you something or bring you down. No matter who are those people with you right now, they mold you to who you are. Thank them.

And also, change is a bitch. We all can say that. Nothing is constant in this world except change. The weather changes, the day changes. It’s how we are able to adapt to it. My manager is right. No matter how big the change is, no matter how harsh it is, even if it’s against our tradition and our ego, we don’t grow if we remain in our comfort zones.

Fear may be a reaction when change happens because we don’t know what uncharted life we are looking forward to. The future is blurry. Our minds are creating guess-scenarios about what will happen. Here comes the part that no matter how hard it is to take, we all need to be positive. Being positive can lead you to fine, smooth-sailing roads.

So whatever change that comes to me, I accept that as the road to another opportunity.

15267901_10207952543639397_2741306885665858651_n

Badian Escapade: Team Deadpool GA

Thank you, Team Leader, for the wonderful nine months.

 

 

 

Thoughts for this post

